The formidable Queen Emma of Normandy

Wife to England’s worst ever king. Wife to her first husband’s greatest foe. Great-aunt to William the Conqueror

Raluca Enescu
11 min readNov 1, 2021
Queen Emma as depicted in the work entitled ‘In Praise of Queen Emma’. Source: British Library

II will start this article in a slightly different way than usual; this will be, most likely, the last on the series that I have planned on Anglo-Saxon history and the line of Alfred the Great. If you have been following my blog, you have heard about Emma before, in my article about her first husband, King AEthelred the Unready.

More recently, I also wrote this article, which is the first time I tried my hand at writing alternate history… sort of. I get to it in the third part of the article. Basically, I end-up asking the question: What if the Norman conquest of England never happened?

--

--

Raluca Enescu

Small charity manager; workers’ rights advocate; data cruncher; purveyor of pretty graphs. Writing in History of Yesterday, Illumination and The Daily Cuppa.